If you're encountering a sign-on error, try clearing your cache, using a private browsing session or reaching out through Ask a Librarian. If you are struggling to know where to begin, check out our guide on Using Databases or sign up for a one-on-one tutoring session with a librarian.
Academic OneFile is a general database with peer-reviewed, full-text articles on a variety of subjects.
What you need to know:This database is useful for anyone looking for a good starting point for general research in almost any subject area.
Academic Search Complete covers a broad variety of subjects. It provides access to journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos.
What you need to know:This is a multidisciplinary database, so searches can be conducted on a wide range of topics.
CQ Researcher examines contemporary issues by providing overviews, opposing viewpoints, statistics, Pro/Con arguments, and bibliographies on topics such as religion, war, human rights, law, and global warming.
What you need to know:This database is useful for starting research on current events topics, especially for speeches and/or argumentative papers.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints can be used to search articles, videos, charts, images, and infographics. It includes topical overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of important social issues.
What you need to know:Use this database to discover and choose research paper topics, and find in-depth articles for research assignments for any class.
A database that indexes journals (articles), books (available by chapters), primary sources, and images. In addition to the many journals that the Learning Commons subscribes to, you can also use JSTOR and Artstor's open access content. At the bottom of the page, you will find a link titled “What’s in JSTOR.” One of the first links within the body of that page it to "Open and free content" which includes resources from both JSTOR and Artstor.
What you need to know:Use JSTOR to get great results for all areas of research for any class assignment. Artstor indexes images from numerous museums and libraries, including the Art Institute of Chicago. It is a great resource for art, art history, and CAT research. Check out JSTOR Daily to see how it matches scholarly information to current topics.
This database contains educational videos for nursing students.
What you need to know:The easiest way to access the videos specifically related to Nursing is to filter by subject. You should see over 500 videos that go into the concepts and practices most important for nursing students to learn.
Global Road Warrior is a collection of information about each country. The content ranges from history to recipes and everything in between.
What you need to know:You can either select a country on the map or search it by name. On the individual country's page, you can use the bar on the left to look at the specific information you are interested in.
Hispanic Life in America features a collection of newspaper articles relating to the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media from 1704 to today.
What you need to know:This database can be used to find historical and current news covering Hispanic Life in America.
This database provides access to over 1,300 books of scholarly merit regarding the culture of Kentucky, the Ohio Valley region, the Upper South, and Appalachia published by the University Press of Kentucky. This collection features many titles by Kentucky authors.
What you need to know:When downloading a book, make sure to use the blue "Download" button. Do not use the button that says "Off-campus Download" even when off-campus.
Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
