Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
The Journal of the Southern Early Childhood Association
This publication offers articles on child care and development, child nutrition and product reviews. The link to their website offers articles, videos, and a blog.
NOTE: If working off-campus, enter your KCTCS ID and Password (the same one you use for email or Blackboard) when prompted.
The library offers specialized databases for students to access journal articles.
The databases are good resources for IEC students researching issues in early childhood education. Academic journals like Early Childhood Education Journal, Children's Literature in Education, Literacy Today, Exceptional Children, Behavior, Child Language Teaching and Therapy, Insights on Learning Disabilities, and Gifted Child Today can be searched in full text.
Academic OneFile is a general database with peer-reviewed, full-text articles on a variety of subjects.
What you need to know:This database is useful for anyone looking for a good starting point for general research in almost any subject area.
This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete covers a broad variety of subjects. It provides access to journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos.
What you need to know:This is a multidisciplinary database, so searches can be conducted on a wide range of topics.
This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost is the Learning Commons entire collection of EBSCOhost databases in one place.
What you need to know:This would be useful for those who want to use EBSCOhost databases but may be unsure of which one(s) to use.
Gale is the Learning Commons entire collection of Gale databases in one place.
What you need to know:This would be useful for those who want to use Gale databases but may be unsure of which one(s) to use. The cross-search function allows you to search across several of the Gale products at once.
This link opens in a new windowMasterFILE Premier features full-text articles from magazines and other periodicals focused on topics such as science, health, business, education, and many more. It also includes a large library of photos, maps, and other multimedia.
What you need to know:This database is useful for locating articles and information relating to nearly any area of general interest.
This link opens in a new windowPsychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection provides hundreds of full-text psychology journal articles.
What you need to know:This database is useful for those seeking information in psychology related fields, with a particular emphasis on child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
This link opens in a new windowThis database contains hundreds of full-text articles from sociological journals dating back over a century.
What you need to know:This database is useful for locating information relating to all facets of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, and relationships.
