Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
The Learning Commons provides access to a number of useful reference sources online. For anatomy, you'll find Access Science to be useful.
AccessScience is a broad-based scientific encyclopedia, including articles, illustrations and videos.
What you need to know:This database is useful for finding background and reference information on scientific topics.
Credo Reference allows access to hundreds of reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific texts, and many more. The Mind Map feature helps draw connections between different aspects of a topic.
What you need to know:This database is useful for locating background and general information in almost all subject areas to help you better understand your topic.
This link opens in a new windowHealth Source – Consumer Edition provides information from magazines and reference books on many health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
What you need to know:This database is useful for finding general information on specific health issues for personal use or for papers. Articles are not from scholarly sources.
Health and Medicine (Gale) includes articles from nursing and allied health journals.
What you need to know:This database is useful for anyone doing research in a health-related field/topic.
Wikipedia can be a good place to start your research when you know nothing about a topic. Occasionally, you can even find good sources among the References and External Links listed on Wikipedia pages -- where the Wikipedia authors found out their information.
However, it is rarely acceptable to use Wikipedia as a source in an academic paper. Ask your instructor if you are unsure.
