Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
Are you confused by the words people use at the library? The Association of College & Research Libraries has created a table of words in several languages and also provided detailed definitions for helping students understand library terms and services.
Are you struggling to research through the databases due to a language barrier? Three of the most commonly used databases allow you to change the searching language. Here's how:
Academic OneFile (Gale): Click on the English button across the top of the page to change the language.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost): Click on the link for Languages across the top of the page to change the language.
JSTOR: Scroll to the bottom of the page, then click on the Google dropdown that says "Select Language"
In EBSCOhost, any article that is available in HTML Full Text can be translated. Look for and click on this icon: 
On the screen, you'll see a dropdown for translating the language:
Choose your language and click on the Translate button. It may take a few moments to translate the entire article.
PDF articles are not available for automatic translation. However, you can use Google Translate or any other translator to help you.
In Gale, once you select an article, you just click on the Translate drop-down box to select your preferred language:
EBSCOhost allows users to limit the search results to only materials written in specific languages. To start, click on Advanced Search:
Under the section "Limit you results", locate the language box and select your language from the options:
This will only search for materials in the language you selected.
This link opens in a new windowEBSCOhost is the Learning Commons entire collection of EBSCOhost databases in one place.
What you need to know:This would be useful for those who want to use EBSCOhost databases but may be unsure of which one(s) to use.
Do you learn by listening or speaking? Some databases can read the articles to you.
In EBSCOhost, can be translated, but it can also be read aloud:
