Skip to main content

Citations

This guide introduces you to the basics of MLA and APA style.

Get in Touch

Ask a Librarian

Messages will be checked on weekdays. 
We will respond as soon as possible.

Try Our FAQs


 chat icon

Learning Commons Quick Links


Tutoring - Writing, math and more

Research Guides - Quick learning

Primo - Library search tool

Databases - Articles and more!

InterLibrary Loan - Request books

eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks

Streaming Video - Learn by watching

MLA Guidelines and Examples

 

A Works Cited page lists all of the works that you used in your paper. To create a Works Cited page, use the following guidelines to put your references in the proper format. If a reference extends to the next line, make sure to indent that line. Arrange these references in alphabetical order by the author’s last name, or first word in the citation (if the citation is listed by title).

NOTE: These general guidelines come from the MLA Handbook. If you cannot find an example that relates to your reference, please consult the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers,8th edition in the Learning Commons (shelved in the reference collection at LB2369.G53 2016.

 

General Web Resource

An entry usually contains most of the following, in this order:

  1. Name of author, editor, compiler, etc.
  2. Title of the work.  Italicize title if work is independent; put it in quotation marks if it is part of a larger work.
  3. Title of the overall website, if different from #2.  Italicize.
  4. Website publisher or sponsor.
  5. Date of publication.  Use n.d. if no date is available.
  6. Medium of publication (Web).
  7. Date of access.

Editor, screen name, author, or compiler name (if available). “Posting Title.” Name of Site
       
        Name of institution/organization affiliated with the site (sponsor or publisher), Medium of publication. Date of access.

 

Austin, James E., and Ezequiel Reficco.  "Corporate Social Entrepreneurship." HBS Working Knowledge.  Harvard

        Business School, 27 Apr. 2009. Web. 25 Aug. 2009.

 

"Roof Detail: Metal Cropping at Parapet." Masonry Details Series.  International Masonry Institute, n.d. Web. 25 Aug. 2009.

 

Article from an Online Journal

Author's name.  "Title of the Article."  Title of the Journal vv.ii (Publication Date): xxx-xxx. Web. Date of access.

 

Burch, Annlee.  "Health Care Providers' Knowledge, Attitudes, and Self-Efficacy for Working with Patients with Spinal Cord
          Injury Who Have Diverse Sexual Orientations."  Physical Therapy 88.2 (2008): 191-198.  Web. 25 Aug. 2009.

 

Article Retrieved from an Article Database (ie Library Resource)

Magazine

Author's name.  "Title of article."  Title of Magazine Publication date: Page numbers.  Name of article resource.  Web. 
       Date of access.

 

Zakaria, Fareed.  "How to Stop a Genocide."  Newsweek 20 Mar. 2006: 45.  Academic Search Premier. Web. 23 Apr. 2009.

 

Journal

Author's name.  "Title of article."  Title of the Journal vv.ii (Publication Date): Page numbers.  Name of article resource. 
         Web.  Date of access.

 

"Famine that Kills: Darfur, Sudan."  Rural Sociology 71.3 (2006): 537-540.  ProQuest.  Web. 15 July 2009.

 

Electronic Book

Author's name.  Title of book. Publication location: Publisher, Publication date. Name of library resource.  Format.
        Date accessed.

 

Book accessed through a library resource, such as Proquest eBook Central:

Ganaway, Nick B.  Construction Business Management: A Guide for Contracting for Business Success.  Oxford:

       Butterworth-Heineman, 2006.  ProquesteBook Central. Web. 14 Aug. 2007.

 

Book accessed through Google Book Search:

Dawkins, Richard.  The Selfish Gene.  Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999.  Google Book Search.  Web. 25 Aug. 2009.

 

Print Book

Author's name.  Title of book. : Publisher, Publication date.  Format.

 

Reiman, Tonya.  The Power of Body Language: How to Succeed in Every Business and Social Encounter

       Simon & Schuster, 2009.  Print.

 

Hyde, Maggie, and Michael McGinnis.  Introducing Jung: A Graphic Guide.  London: Icon, 2008. Print.

 

Scholarly Article from a Print Journal

Author's name.  "Title of the Article."  Title of the Journal vv.ii (Publication Date): Page numbers.  Print.

 

El-Sheikh, Mona, et al.  "Child Emotional Insecurity and Academic Achievement: The Role of Sleep Disruptions."

      Journal of Family Psychology 21.1 (2007): 66-68. Print.

 

Print Magazine Article from a Weekly or Biweekly Magazine

Author's name.  "Title of Article."  Title of Magazine Full publication date: xx. Print.

 

Shine, Eric.  "A Find Nose for the Family Business." Business Week 8 Jan. 2007: 66-68.  Print.

 

Note: For magazines that are published monthly or bimonthly, give the month or months and year.  Abbreviate all months except for May, June, and July.

 

Kelly, Brian.  "Why Green Matters Now." U.S. News & World Report Apr. 2009. 4. Print.

 

 

Print Newspaper Article

Author's name. "Title of the Article." Title of the Newspaper Full publication date, edition: page numbers. Print.

 

Haberman, Clyde.  "Two Grievous Cases Seek Different Paths to Justice." New York Times 29 Jan. 2008, late ed.: B1.
        Print.

 

 

Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entry

Author's name. "Title of entry." Title of the Encyclopedia. ed. Vol. Publication date.  Medium.

 

Laner, Mary Reige.  "Courtship." Encyclopedia of Sociology.  2nd ed.  Vol. 1. 2000. Print.

 

If no author is listed, start with the title of the entry:

"Oppositional Defiant Disorder."  Human Diseases and Conditions.  Suppl. 1. 2001, Print.

 

Entry from an online encyclopedia:

Conradt, David P.  "Green Party of Germany."  Encyclopaedia Britannica Online.  Web.  6 Oct. 2008.

 

Interview You Conducted

Interviewee's name.  Kind of interview.  Date of interview.

 

LaPlante, Dennis.  Personal interview.  21 Jan. 2009.

 

Doyle, Jim.  Telephone interview.  15 Mar. 2007.

 

Film or Videorecording

Title of video. Abbreviated title of contributor.  Name of contributor.  Original release date (if different than publication date).

       Publisher, Publication date.  Medium.

 

Fight Club.  Dir. David Fincher.  Perf. Brad Pitt, Edward Norton, and Helena Bonham Carter.  20th Century Fox, 1999.  Film.

 

Schindler's List.  Dir. Steven Spielberg.  Perf. Liam Neeson, Ben Kingsley, and Ralph Fiennes.  1993. 

       Universal Studios, 2004.  DVD.

 

NASA Dawn Mission to the Asteroid Belt.  2007.  TeacherTube.  Web.  1 May 2009.

 

Video accessed through the JCTC Learning Commons Films on Demand subscription:

Title of video. Video producer, Year produced. Title of database. Medium. Date of access. 

 

Conflict Resolution and Etiquette. Films Media Group, 2005. Films on Demand.  Web.  25 Aug. 2009.

 

Example of a Works Cited page

To create a Works Cited page, start on a new page at the end of a paper.  Type Works Cited at the top of the page.  Double-space the whole page and leave the same margins as the rest of your paper.  Alphabetize your list of references by the last names of the authors. (If a work has no author, alphabetize by the first word of the title other than a, an, or the.) Do not indent the first line of each entry, but apply a "hanging indent" to each one. A hanging indent pushes over every line after the first line.

MLA Works Cited - Frankenstein

 


Adapted from the Citations Guide by the Northeast Wisconsin Technical College Library. 

 

MLA How-to Guide

This guide explains how to set-up an MLA style Works Cited page in Word 2010 step by step.

MLA How-to

Click on the link below to open the full document as a PDF.

Helpful websites

The sites serve as either an introduction to MLA style or work as citation generators.