If you're encountering a sign-on error, try clearing your cache, using a private browsing session or reaching out through Ask a Librarian. If you are struggling with where to begin, check out our guide on Using Databases or sign up for a one-on-one tutoring session with a librarian.
The most frequently-used databases
Why use this database?
Academic OneFile is a general database with peer-reviewed, full-text articles on a variety of subjects.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone looking for a good starting point for general research in almost any subject area.
Why use this database?
Academic Search Complete covers a broad variety of subjects. It provides access to journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos.
What you need to know:
This is a multidisciplinary database, so searches can be conducted on a wide range of topics.
Why use this database?
CQ Researcher examines contemporary issues by providing overviews, opposing viewpoints, statistics, Pro/Con arguments, and bibliographies on topics such as religion, war, human rights, law, and global warming.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for starting research on current events topics, especially for speeches and/or argumentative papers.
Why use this database?
Credo Reference allows access to hundreds of reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific texts, and many more. The Mind Map feature helps draw connections between different aspects of a topic.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating background and general information in almost all subject areas to help you better understand your topic.
Why use this database?
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints can be used to search articles, videos, charts, images, and infographics. It includes topical overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of important social issues.
What you need to know:
Use this database to discover and choose research paper topics, and find in-depth articles for research assignments for any class.
Why use this database?
A database that indexes journals (articles), books (available by chapters), primary sources, and images. In addition to the many journals that the Learning Commons subscribes to, you can also use JSTOR and Artstor's open access content. At the bottom of the page, you will find a link titled “What’s in JSTOR.” One of the first links within the body of that page it to "Open and free content" which includes resources from both JSTOR and Artstor.
What you need to know:
Use JSTOR to get great results for all areas of research for any class assignment. Artstor indexes images from numerous museums and libraries, including the Art Institute of Chicago. It is a great resource for art, art history, and CAT research. Check out JSTOR Daily to see how it matches scholarly information to current topics.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Why use this database?
This database contains educational videos for allied health and nursing students.
What you need to know:
This link will take you to the Infobase Learning portal. Once there, select “Allied Health Collection.” You should see over 700 videos that go into the concepts and practices most important for students in allied health fields to learn.
Why use this database?
This database contains educational videos for nursing students.
What you need to know:
This link will take you to the Infobase Learning portal. Once there, select “Nursing: Current Concepts and Practices Collection.” You should see over 1,000 videos that go into the concepts and practices most important for nursing students to learn.
Why use this database?
Gale in Context: Biography provides more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Content includes reference sources, videos, audio, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for researching people in all subjects. You can search for a specific person, browse people by groups like “artists” or “writers", or use search filters like occupation, place of birth or death, gender, or nationality to find what you are looking for.
Why use this database?
Gale in Context: Science is a broad scientific database, containing topic overviews, journal articles, news, interactive experiments, biographies, dictionaries, and more.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding background and reference information on scientific topics.
Why use this database?
Health Reference Center contains information about diseases and health conditions, treatments, procedures, nutrition, and body systems, as well as videos, illustrations, and visual media to aid you in your research and studies.
What you need to know:
This link will take you to the Infobase Learning portal. Once there, select “Health Reference Center.”
News for You offers easy-to-read news stories that can help you learn to read, write, speak and understand the English language. News articles include audio, exercises, and vocabulary. There is also a crossword and word search available each week.
What you need to know:New stories are posted on Mondays and Wednesdays. If you run into a paywall, please contact the Learning Commons for assistance.
Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday
10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
