Skip to Main Content

Books and More

Get in Touch

Ask a Librarian

Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 5pm


 chat icon

Try Our FAQs

Learning Commons Quick Links


Tutoring - Writing, math and more

Learning Guides - Quick learning

Hours - Find out when we're open

Library Search - Find materials

Databases - Articles and more!

InterLibrary Loan - Request books

Books - Recommended books

eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks

Streaming Video - Learn by watching


Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more! 

 

Follow Us!

You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media. 

facebook icon Twitter Icon instagram icon

Streaming Video

Streaming video means that you do not have to download anything in order to watch it, it's ready to go when you are!  An well-known example is YouTube, but there are many other streaming video sites which you will learn about on this page.


The Learning Commons provides access to hundreds of streaming videos through: (These require KCTCS login info)

Free Streaming Video and Film

Free Streaming Video 

Moving Image Archive This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. Part of the Internet Archive.
PBS Video Videos from PBS
TED Talks TED Talks are influential videos from expert speakers on education, business, science, tech and creativity, with subtitles in 100+ languages.
Top Documentary Films At Top Documentary Films you can find thousands of stunning, eye-opening and interesting documentaries.
Tubi Free Movies and TV shows online
YouTube Enjoy the videos and music you love.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
TV News Archive View clips from 1,632,000 shows since 2009. Part of the Internet Archive.
Documentary Heaven Food for your Brain
Open Culture Watch over 200 documentaries online.The documentaries cover everything from music and cinema, to literature, religion, politics and physics. They're thought-provoking, eye-opening, and enlightening.
PBS Frontline Public affairs videos; most like can be used in educational courses
Pluto TV Free streaming television channels and some on demand videos and films.
POV Documentaries with a Point of View (Part of PBS)
American Experience Film and Videos from the American Experience Catalog online (PBS)
Digital Moving Image Collections Digital movies from the Library of Congress, American Memory Collection (Primary Source)​
Civil Rights Digital Library The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Library of Congress: Digital Collection Some of the Library of Congress collections migrated to new collections
WGBH OpenVault WGBH Media Library and Archives (MLA) provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH.
Thanhouser Company Is an organization involved in the research, acquisition, preservation and publication of educational materials related to the early silent motion picture era, with a specific focus on the Thanhouser film enterprise.
NOVA videos Now in its fourth decade of production, the series remains committed to producing in-depth science programming in the form of one-hour documentaries and long-form mini-series, from the latest breakthroughs in technology to the deepest mysteries of the natural world.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting "Acquire, preserve, and provide access to a universal collection of knowledge and the record of America’s creativity”
Stanford Health Library The Stanford Health Video Library programs feature prominent doctors presenting the latest health research.
WatchKnowLearn.org Educational videos by subject.
The Mike Wallace Interviews The Mike Wallace Interview ran from 1957 to 1960, but the Ransom Center collection includes interviews from only 1957 and 1958. (Primary Source)
FolkStreams Folkstreams is a non-profit dedicated to finding, preserving, and showcasing documentary films of America's traditional cultures
American Rhetoric 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
The Interviews: An Oral History of Television A video collection of first-person interviews with those involved in the birth and growth of the American television industry. Provided by the Television Academy Foundation. (Primary Source)