Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 5pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
When researching, there are databases that provide scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of topics like Gale OneFile, EBSCHost's Academic Search Complete, or JSTOR. Sometimes though, you may be looking within a narrower subject or field. Jefferson has access to some subject specific databases. See examples of subject specific databases in the boxes below.
If you ever need help determining which database to use, sign up for a one-on-one tutoring session with a librarian or call, text, email, or chat with a librarian through Ask a Librarian.
You may be required to login with your KCTCS information to access the databases.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Agricola contains 5.7 million bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for those studying agriculture and related topics, including veterinary medicine.
Why use this database?
The Agriculture database from Gale provides access to content that spans agricultural industry.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for those in courses related to agriculture. The topics cover everything from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge research in horticulture.
Why use this database?
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale) provides articles in the field of environmental studies and policy, including perspectives from scientists, policy makers, and corporations.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone doing research on environmental policies.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
GreenFILE offers journal and magazine articles on all aspects of the human impact on the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding articles on any environmental issue.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Regional Business News contains content from publishers, newspapers, radio, and more on business news in the United States and Canada.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for research related to business and economics.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database and contains full-text articles from hundreds of journals and magazines.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for doing research on any of the subjects featured, including accounting, finance, economics, marketing, management, management information systems, and operations management.
Why use this database?
This database provides access to journals, magazines, and other periodicals designed to help current and future entrepreneurs, as well as business school students locate the information necessary for success.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating information about how to start and operate a business, including industry specific knowledge.
Why use this database?
The Economics and Theory database can be used to search for articles on business, policy, marketing, and trend analysis.
What you need to know:
Use this database for business and economics research. Search by term, topic, subject, or publication.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Career & Technical Education Database is an excellent source for vocational information with over 700 full-text titles.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone looking for information on different technical careers.
Why use this database?
Vocations and Careers contains full-text articles from magazines, journals, and other periodicals focusing on all aspects of career development, including researching a career, exploring educational options, job searching, and career maintenance.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for researching all aspects of career development, no matter what level you are currently at in your career.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
LearningExpress Library offers a comprehensive selection of online tutorials, practice tests, articles, ebooks, and test preparation.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone needing prep and/or practice for exams, including GED, ACT, GRE, and the US Citizenship test, or occupational certification exam prep for careers in nursing and allied health, military, law enforcement, education and various trades. You will need to create a free account to use LearningExpress Library.
Why use this database?
Communications and Mass Media provides articles from the field of communications.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding articles on topics related to television, social media, journalism, interpersonal communication, and more.
Why use this database?
Pop Culture Studies provides access to both journal and magazine articles that analyze and contribute to popular culture.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for those doing research in pop culture topics. Topics related to social science, history, art and liberal arts are also included.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.
What you need to know:
This database can be useful for those in medical fields such as Allied Health or Nursing. When using this database, you may want to filter using the “Limit to: Linked Full Text” if you would like to be able to read the articles.
Why use this database?
The Nursing and Allied Health database can be used to search for full-text articles related to specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
What you need to know:
This database can be useful for those in the nursing or allied health fields.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
CINAHL contains scholarly and peer-reviewed articles for nursing, and allied health disciplines. It also includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
What you need to know:
Use this database to find information on medical care issues for all Allied Health programs.
Why use this database?
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines centered on physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating information on a variety of topics related to the fields of fitness and sports, including proven treatment techniques and experimental research.
Why use this database?
Health and Medicine (Gale) includes articles from nursing and allied health journals.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone doing research in a health-related field/topic.
Why use this database?
The Health and Wellness database from Gale provides access to full-text journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. It covers subjects like health and medicine, diseases and conditions, drugs, diagnostics and testing, therapies, treatments, and surgeries.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for those doing research on heath topics or those in any field of medical study.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Health Source – Consumer Edition provides information from magazines and reference books on many health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding general information on specific health issues for personal use or for papers. Articles are not from scholarly sources.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
APA PsychInfo® includes peer-reviewed articles, authored/edited books and book chapters, dissertations, and other publications in psychology-based fields.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone doing research in the fields of behavioral sciences and mental health.
Why use this database?
Gale's Psychology database provides access to academic journals, magazines, and other periodicals focused on all fields of psychology, including abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating information relating to all aspects of psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection provides hundreds of full-text psychology journal articles.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for those seeking information in psychology related fields, with a particular emphasis on child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Black Life in America is a comprehensive collection of newspaper articles covering the African American experience from the early 18th century to present day.
What you need to know:
Use this database to find historical and current news related to Black Life in America.
Why use this database?
Black Thought and Culture is a collection of current and historical non-fiction writings by major American black leaders. Black Thought and Culture offers previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts that present a complex view of what it is to be black in America.
What you need to know:
Use this database for African American studies, history, and cultural anthropology. Search with terms and names, by academic subject, titles, and publishers.
Why use this database?
The Diversity Studies database contains articles related to social science, history, and liberal arts and explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
What you need to know:
This database would be useful for those in social science, humanities, or history classes. You can use the topic finder to discover the relationship between topics.
Why use this database?
The Gender Studies database contains information on a range of issues relating to gender, identity, family, and relationships from academic journals, magazines, books, and images.
What you need to know:
Use this database to find information for women’s studies, cultural studies, and sociology.
Why use this database?
Religion and Philosophy can be used to research the theology and practice of world religions. Search academic journals, books, news, magazines, images, and video to explore the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.
What you need to know:
This database can be used to find information for religion classes, cultural studies, and personal interest.
Why use this database?
The Computer Science database allows access to over 600 journals and periodicals, providing news, reviews, and other information relevant to the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
What you need to know:
Use this database to research any aspect of the computer science industry, including topics such as cloud computing, hardware, software, and engineering.
Why use this database?
The Coronavirus Research database has coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak. It includes thousands of open-access articles related to the pandemic.
What you need to know:
This database would be useful for those researching current events related to the COVID-19 outbreak.
Why use this database?
Criminal Justice (Gale) has over 250 academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for those doing research in law, legal studies, and criminal justice.
Why use this database?
Fine Arts provides journal and magazine articles in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for art, art history, music, and film topics.
Why use this database?
Gale’s Home Improvement Collection provides access to over 4.5 million articles, from over 200 publications, focused on home improvement and is designed for use by anyone from a beginner hobbyist to a professional carpenter.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding information on home improvement related topics as diverse as architectural techniques to tool and material selection.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
This database contains hundreds of full-text articles from sociological journals dating back over a century.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating information relating to all facets of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, and relationships.
Why use this database?
War and Terrorism (Gale) contains more than 1.7 million articles on conflicts and their causes, impacts, and perceptions on a global scale. What you need to know:
This database is useful for research in the topics of military science, history, and social science.
Why use this database?
Through Gale’s World History database, you can access journal and magazine coverage of events throughout world history.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for world civilization classes and European history classes.
