Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday
10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
A reference source is background information on a topic. A reference database contains reference sources. Researchers use reference sources to:
Reference sources can be found in many places like:
Why use this database?
Credo Reference allows access to hundreds of reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific texts, and many more. The Mind Map feature helps draw connections between different aspects of a topic.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating background and general information in almost all subject areas to help you better understand your topic.
Why use this database?
CQ Researcher examines contemporary issues by providing overviews, opposing viewpoints, statistics, Pro/Con arguments, and bibliographies on topics such as religion, war, human rights, law, and global warming.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for starting research on current events topics, especially for speeches and/or argumentative papers.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Britannica Academic provides encyclopedia articles, dictionary and thesaurus entries, an atlas, biographies, and magazine articles.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding background and reference information on any topic.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia contains over 25,000 entries covering many subject areas. Entries are often brief and easy to read but provide essential information about the topics covered.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating background and general information in almost all subject areas.
Why use this database?
Gale in Context: Biography provides more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Content includes reference sources, videos, audio, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for researching people in all subjects. You can search for a specific person, browse people by groups like “artists” or “writers", or use search filters like occupation, place of birth or death, gender, or nationality to find what you are looking for.
