Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday
10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
Newspaper articles are often primary source documents that can be useful for researchers. You can find stories, opinions of the time, and more within a newspaper. Jefferson has access to many different newspaper databases:
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Alt-PressWatch includes full-text newspapers and magazines from alternative, independent presses.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding newspaper articles presenting viewpoints that do not come from mainstream media perspectives.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
America's News features reliable and up-to-date news information from a wide variety of local, regional, and national news sources.
What you need to know:
Use this database to research diverse perspectives, topics, and trends that align with areas of studies such as business, health, criminal justice, humanities, political science, and more.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Black Life in America is a comprehensive collection of newspaper articles covering the African American experience from the early 18th century to present day.
What you need to know:
Use this database to find historical and current news related to Black Life in America.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
The Courier Journal is a Louisville newspaper that can be searched for local and regional news stories from 1999 to present.
What you need to know:
Use this database for information on local and national news.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
The New York Times (NYT) includes newspaper articles covering regional, national, and international news from 1980 to present.
What you need to know:
The NYT is useful for finding newspaper articles on current events and information on historical events.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Newspaper Source provides full-text articles from regional, national, and international newspapers.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating newspaper articles, as well as transcripts of radio and television news programs.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
The Washington Post is a daily newspaper based out of Washington D.C. You can find articles on a wide variety of subjects like politics, technology, and so much more.
What you need to know:
This database would be best for finding information related to current events. You will see ads within this database, but you do not need to pay to read any articles.
We also have two news databases for educators:
Why use this database?
Adjunct Nation contains a variety of information, including news, opinion pieces, and columns focusing on the needs and interests of adjunct faculty.
What you need to know:
This database focuses primarily on topics of interest to adjunct faculty and others in the educational field.
Why use this database?
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a newspaper that covers news, information, and jobs for professionals in higher education.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for Jefferson faculty or for those interested in the news related to higher education.
