Skip to Main Content

Using Databases

Get in Touch

Ask a Librarian

Available 10 am - 7 pm
Monday - Thursday
10 am - 1 pm Friday


 chat icon

Try Our FAQs

Learning Commons Quick Links


Tutoring - Writing, math and more

Learning Guides - Quick learning

Primo - Library search tool

Databases - Articles and more!

InterLibrary Loan - Request books

Books - Recommended books

eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks

Streaming Video - Learn by watching

Follow Us!

You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on our social media. 

facebook icon   instagram icon

How to Research

We know that the research process can seem intimidating so we've created a few resources to help you. 


Video on Researching:

How to search using Academic Search Complete (10:19)
This is brief video from one of our librarians on how to do to a basic search within a database.

PowerPoints On Researching:

Research Overview Basics 
This PowerPoint illustrates the basics of conducting research on any topic giving special attention to finding and organizing search results. 

 

The Research Process - ENG 101
This PowerPoint is intended for students of ENG 101 classes. It demonstrates the process for conducting research.

 

Videos on How to Use the Databases

Click on the light grey tab for the database that you are using to find videos explaining how to use each database.



Gale Academic OneFile - Targeting Trusted Sources (1:32) (Video Above)
This video shows you how to narrow a research topic within Gale Academic OneFile.


Introduction to EBSCOHost (4:17) (Video Above)
This tutorial provides an overview of the features of the EBSCOhost interface, including: searching EBSCOhost, using the result list, previewing articles, and using search history.

EBSCOHost Basic Search (2:13)
This tutorial demonstrates how to create a Basic Search using EBSCOhost.

EBSCOHost Advanced Searching (2:38)
This tutorial demonstrates how to use Advanced Searching on the EBSCOhost interface with the Guided Style Find Fields.

Using the EBSCOhost Result List (3:39)
This tutorial demonstrates the many features available on the EBSCOhost Result List, including limiting results, saving articles to the folder, and previewing images.


Navigating the Site and Using Content (2:48) (Video Above)
Learn how to search and browse through articles, briefings, news, biographies, media, and projects on AccessScience.

Tips for Students Using AccessScience (1:59)
The video demonstrates the top five tips for students to get the most value out of using the resources available in AccessScience.


Sample PsycINFO Search on EBSCOhost (23:28) (Video Above)
This is a 20-minute webinar explaining how to do basic searches in PsycINFO on the EBSCOhost platform. It provides tips and tricks for getting the best results.


CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching (3:18) (Video Above)
This tutorial demonstrates the basic searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.

CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching (3:45)
This tutorial demonstrates the advanced searching features of the suite of CINAHL databases on EBSCOhost.


CQ Researcher Tutorial Video (2:28) (Video Above)
This video will provide a quick overview of how to use on the searching capabilities of CQ Researcher. CQ Researcher offers a trusted, accessible content and analysis on newsworthy social and political issues.


Credo Training Videos: Basic Search in Credo (3:07) (Video Above)
This video shows how to run a basic search in Credo Online Reference Service.

Credo Training Videos: Refine Your Search (1:22)
This video demonstrates how to use Boolean operators to narrow your Credo Reference search.

Credo Scavenger Hunt (2:49)
This video is a fun little scavenger hunt to explore the different features within a Credo search.


Ebook Central Overview and Searching (3:20) (Video Above)
This video provides an overview of the Ebook Central database and demonstrates how to perform a search.

Ebook Central Reader (3:34)
This video demonstrates how to use the Ebook Central Reader.

ProQuest Training YouTube Channel
The ProQuest Training YouTube Channel features video tutorials in a variety of non-English languages.


Searching EBSCO eBooks (1:36) (Video Above)
This tutorial demonstrates how to search for EBSCO eBooks on EBSCOhost, as well as EBSCO Discovery Service.

Reading EBSCO eBooks (2:54)
This tutorial demonstrates how to read EBSCO eBooks in EBSCOhost and EBSCO Discovery Service online using your browser.

Downloading EBSCO eBooks (3:17)
This tutorial demonstrates the download functionality for EBSCO eBooks as well as how to use Adobe Digital Editions to transfer them to a compatible eReader device.

Exporting EBSCO eBooks Pages to Google Drive (2:05)
This tutorial demonstrates how to export EBSCO eBooks pages to your Google Drive account.


Introduction to EBSCOHost (4:17) (Video Above)
This tutorial provides an overview of the features of the EBSCOhost interface, including: searching EBSCOhost, using the result list, previewing articles, and using search history.

EBSCOHost Basic Search (2:13)
This tutorial demonstrates how to create a Basic Search using EBSCOhost.

EBSCOHost Advanced Searching (2:38)
This tutorial demonstrates how to use Advanced Searching on the EBSCOhost interface with the Guided Style Find Fields.

Using the EBSCOhost Result List (3:39)
This tutorial demonstrates the many features available on the EBSCOhost Result List, including limiting results, saving articles to the folder, and previewing images.


JSTOR isn't Google: How to use search to find articles and ebooks on JSTOR (2:29) (Video Above)
This short tutorial gives you an overview of how to get started with a basic search in JSTOR and introduces you how to start with advanced searching.


EBSCO LearningExpress Centers – Tutorial (3:16) (Video Above)
This video demonstrates how to explore centers, categories and topics in the EBSCO LearningExpress platform.

Registering as a New LearningExpress User (2:41)
This video guide walks you through how to register as a new LearningExpress user with your library card number or a product key.

Navigating the LearningExpress Home Page (1:34)
This video guide shows you how to navigate the LearningExpress Library home page.

Searching for Resources in LearningExpress (1:12)
This video demonstrates how to search the LearningExpress platform and filter results by resource type.

Taking a Practice Test in LearningExpress (3:12)
This video guide shows how to take tests in LearningExpress using learner, practice and simulation mode, as well as how to score a test, review answers, and identify areas of strength and weakness.


MEDLINE Complete - Tutorial (3:03) (Video Above)
This tutorial demonstrates the features of the MEDLINE Complete database on the EBSCOhost interface, including basic searching and narrowing results on the result list.


Using Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Basics (2:57) (Video Above)
This video provides an overview of how to use Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context.

Using Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Search Results (2:05)
This video provides information on how to navigate the search results when using Gale's Opposing Viewpoints in Context.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints - Topic Pages (1:29)
This tutorial shows you how to use topic pages within Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints to research key issues and topics of debate.


Basic Search (2:41) (Video Above)
This video provides information on how to conduct a basic search in ProQuest databases.

Advanced Search (2:13)
This video provides information on how to conduct an advanced search in ProQuest databases.

Search Results (3:43)
This video demonstrates how to narrow and refine your search results in ProQuest databases.

ProQuest Training YouTube Channel
The ProQuest Training YouTube Channel features video tutorials in a variety of non-English languages.


If you are still uncomfortable with using the databases, sign up for a one-on-one session with a librarian through tutoring or reach out through Ask a Librarian