Learning Guides: Medical Laboratory Technician Resources: Journal Articles/Databases

Get in Touch

Ask a Librarian

Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday
10am - 2pm

Try Our FAQs

Learning Commons Quick Links

Tutoring - Writing, math and more

Learning Guides - Quick learning

Hours - Find out when we're open

Library Search - Find materials

Databases - Articles and more!

InterLibrary Loan - Request books

Books - Recommended books

eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks

Streaming Video - Learn by watching

Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!

Follow Us!

You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.

What are databases?

Databases provide access to articles from credible, well-known newspapers, magazines and journals.

The library pays a subscription fee for several general and subject-specific databases for students and faculty to use.

Some databases contain scholarly content, like academic journals on a specific subject, and others contain articles from popular magazines such as Newsweek or Forbes. Databases may contain a mixture of content from both scholarly and popular sources.

You will need to use your KCTCS ID and password to access databases from home.

Database Search Tips

Limit the results of your search by checking the boxes for Full-Text (only articles you can read in their entirety) or Peer-Reviewed (only scholarly articles).
Take a look at the list of Subjects provided by the database to find the right terminology to use in your searches; for example, searching term rather than different term will provide you with more results.
Be as specific as possible to get a manageable number of results. Try not to use natural language when searching library databases.
Research databases must be accessed through the library website. If you Google it, your username and password will not work!

MEDLINE

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It was created by the National Library of Medicine and is available through the EBSCOhost database.

Note: Enter your KCTCS ID and Password (same one you use for email or Blackboard) when prompted.

MEDLINE
Why use this database?
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.
What you need to know:
This database can be useful for those in medical fields such as Allied Health or Nursing. When using this database, you may want to filter using the “Limit to: Linked Full Text” if you would like to be able to read the articles.

CINAHL

CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. It provides full text for more than 610 journals dating to 1981. It is part of the EBSCOhost database.

Note: Enter your KCTCS ID and Password (same one you use for Blackboard) when prompted.

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCOHost)
Why use this database?
CINAHL contains scholarly and peer-reviewed articles for nursing, and allied health disciplines. It also includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
What you need to know:
Use this database to find information on medical care issues for all Allied Health programs.

Gale

Gale Databases

Gale is a collection of six databases focusing on general, academic, and health topics, including Academic OneFile and Health Reference Center Academic. Click on the following link to connect to Gale.