Learning Guides: Math Anxiety: Finding websites

Get in Touch

Ask a Librarian

Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 2pm

Try Our FAQs

Learning Commons Quick Links

Tutoring - Writing, math and more

Learning Guides - Quick learning

Hours - Find out when we're open

Library Search - Find materials

Databases - Articles and more!

InterLibrary Loan - Request books

Books - Recommended books

eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks

Streaming Video - Learn by watching

Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!

Follow Us!

You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.

Websites for students: Tutorials

The links listed here provide tutorials that allow you to review math concepts. Some of the tutorials are videos, others are audio podcasts, and others are online.

Khan Academy
The Khan Academy is a not-for-profit organization with the goal of providing a free world-class education to anyone anywhere. It contains tons of videos about algebra concepts from pre-algebra through algebra II.
Virtual Math Lab
The West Texas A&M University Virtual Math Lab has a comprehensive set of tutorials for beginning, intermediate and college algebra. You do not have to be a student at WTAMU to use any of these online tutorials. They were created as a service to anyone who needs help in these areas of math.
Math Dude: Algebra I skills
High school math teacher Mike DeGraba posts these fast–paced programs aimed at helping students with Algebra I. Each online lesson can be viewed online or through iTunes.

Websites for students: Videos

These websites all contain online videos or video podcasts that you can watch and review math concepts.

Khan Academy
The Khan Academy is a not-for-profit organization with the goal of providing a free world-class education to anyone anywhere. It contains tons of videos about algebra concepts from pre-algebra through algebra II.
Math Dude: Algebra I skills
High school math teacher Mike DeGraba posts these fast–paced programs aimed at helping students with Algebra I. Each online lesson can be viewed online or through iTunes.
Video Math Tutor: Algebra
This free podcast available through iTunes U contains video podcast lessons to help you do better in your algebra courses. This includes those taking algebra for the first time or those just needing a review for college courses or Standardized Tests.
MATH 1050: College Algebra
This free podcast available through iTunes U contains full video episodes of HUM1010: College Algebra, a college course produced by Distance Education at Utah Valley State College in the USA. Instructor is Loretta Palmer.
MATH 103: College Algebra
This free podcast available through iTunes U covers fundamental algebraic operations, exponents and radicals, systems of equations, higher degree equations, logarithms, matrices, inequalities. The podcasts are live recorded video or PDF or a combination. The average length for video is 12 minutes. Instructor is Susan Cooper-Nguyen from Harrisburg Area Community College.
Your Teacher
This free podcast available through iTunes U contains a selection of videos from YourTeacher.com. Every lesson features video examples, interactive practice, multiple-choice self-tests, extra problems, and more.

Websites for students: Interactive games

The sites listed here contain games or interactive tools that help you visual math concepts like fractions or decimals.

National Library for Virtual Manipulatives
Interactive, web-based tutorials to help you visualize the math process. Created by Utah State University and funded by the National Science Foundation.
Cool Math
Algebra, fractions, fractals, Calculus, Geometry, mathematical games, puzzles and problems, tessellations, functions, limits. Tons of math stuff for kids, teens, and parents. Good information available if you ignore the kid-centric design of the site.
Interactive mathematics
Covers material from Algebra, Trig, Calculus, and Statistics by using Flash, Scientific Notebook, and Live Math Interactive Documents. Links to some math games and links to math blogs provided.
Visual Fractions
This tutorial models fractions using circular graphics to increase understanding.
IXL
Math concept from pre-K through algebra, with practice problems for every learning style. Some options are free, but others require a monthly membership.

Websites for students: Other math resources

These sites include a math encyclopedia and other explanations for terms and processes in math, as well as reviewing basic concepts or applying math to specific professions.

Wolfram MathWorld
An interactive math encyclopedia with animated graphics. This free site is provided by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
S.O.S. Math
Contains more than 2,500 pages of concise explanations to many math questions. Select your course from the index list under the S.O.S. Mathematics graphic and start surfing away. Aimed at high school, college and adult learners.
Xtramath
Helps students master addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. Requires signing up for a free account.

Websites for faculty

Math Forum at Drexel
Links to math resources, Ask Dr Math, teacher resources, and lesson plans from Drexel University.
Wolfram MathWorld
An interactive math encyclopedia with animated graphics. This free site is provided by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
Wolfram MathWorld Classroom
Provides definitions and summaries of a variety of math terms used in the classroom.

Math Anxiety