Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
Video can help you understand a topic better, whether it's a short clip from a newsreel or a feature-length documentary. This tab will help you find videos in the library catalog that you can check out or watch in the library, use Films on Demand or Academic Video Online for streaming video, and find free video to watch online.
Films On Demand and Academic Video Online are web-based digital video delivery platforms that allow you to view streaming educational videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Users who create accounts can organize and bookmark clips, share playlists and store quick links to favorite videos.
Off-campus access is restricted to members of the JCTC community. You will use the same username/password that is required for email or Blackboard access.
Films on Demand is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused video streaming database, which includes full transcripts, closed captioning, and formatted citations. Also included are documentaries from all major producers, including PBS, National Geographic, A&E, American Museum of Natural History, HBO, and news from all major outlets like CBS, NBC, and BBC.
What you need to know:This database offers informative videos for research in all academic subjects. Students in technical programs may find this database pertinent for its videos on carpentry, auto tech, electronics, HVAC, welding, hands-on repair, and graphic modeling.
Stream educational video on a range of subjects, health, history, music and more.
What you need to know:This database covers a wide range of topics you may find information in video format. Searchable fields include name, subject, channel, and collection.
To find DVDs and video recordings that the library owns, you'll need to use Library Search.
To find film versions, enter your search terms in the search box and hit enter. Once you have your results list, use the filters on the side of the page to limit Resource Type to Audio Visual and Location to Jefferson CTC. For instance, a search of animals limited to the Location of Jefferson CTC - Downtown Campus - Book Stacks and Jefferson CTC - Downtown Campus - Browsing Videos would produce results including:
Some of the movies in the library's collection might not have as much value as a resource for your paper, but they might provide anecdotal examples or images for a presentation. Which of the movies above is likely to fall into this category?
This list contains links to educational programming that can be watched online or downloaded.
