Skip to Main Content

Controversial Issues

Writing a debate or argumentative research paper? Here's how to get started researching controversial issues.

Get in Touch

Ask a Librarian

Available 10 am - 7 pm
Monday - Thursday
10 am - 1 pm Friday


 chat icon

Try Our FAQs

Learning Commons Quick Links


Tutoring - Writing, math and more

Learning Guides - Quick learning

Primo - Library search tool

Databases - Articles and more!

InterLibrary Loan - Request books

Books - Recommended books

eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks

Streaming Video - Learn by watching


Search Primo for books, eBooks, articles, and more! 

 

Follow Us!

You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on our social media. 

facebook icon   instagram icon

What are Databases?

Databases provide access to articles from credible, well-known newspapers, magazines and journals. The library pays a subscription fee for several general and subject-specific databases for students and faculty to use.

Some databases contain scholarly content, like academic journals on a specific subject, and others contain articles from popular magazines such as Newsweek or Forbes. Databases may contain a mixture of content from both scholarly and popular sources.

You will need to use your KCTCS ID and password (same one you use for Blackboard) to access databases from home.

Databases for Articles on Topic

These databases contain articles that will make excellent sources for a pro/con paper. If you're not sure where to start, try Opposing Viewpoints in Context or CQ Research.

Note: Enter your KCTCS ID and Password (same one you use for email or Blackboard) when prompted.

Google Scholar

Search scholarly literature on the open web using Google Scholar.

Google Scholar Search

CQ Research Tutorial

This short video from SAGE Publications can help you use CQ Researcher. (2:29)

Opposing Viewpoints tutorial

This short video tutorial  can help you use Opposing Viewpoints (2:39).