Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
Databases provide access to articles from credible, well-known newspapers, magazines and journals.
The college pays for you have access to these databases, therefore you must confirm that you are student to use them off-campus. Enter your normal KCTCS username and password when prompted.
Some databases contain scholarly content, like academic journals on a specific subject, and others contain articles from popular magazines such as Newsweek or Forbes. Databases may contain a mixture of content from both scholarly and popular sources.
These pages look specifically at databases that will help you find articles for Evidence-Based Practice. To view a list of all the other databases you have access to through the library click on Databases within the Learning Commons Quick Links box on the left.
CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. It provides full text for more than 610 journals dating to 1981. It is part of the EBSCOhost database.
Note: Enter your KCTCS ID and Password (same one you use for Blackboard) when prompted.
This link opens in a new windowCINAHL contains scholarly and peer-reviewed articles for nursing, and allied health disciplines. It also includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
What you need to know:Use this database to find information on medical care issues for all Allied Health programs.
PsychINFO contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. It is available through the EBSCOhost database.
Note: Enter your KCTCS ID and Password (same one you use for Blackboard) when prompted.
This link opens in a new windowAPA PsychInfo® includes peer-reviewed articles, authored/edited books and book chapters, dissertations, and other publications in psychology-based fields.
What you need to know:This database is useful for anyone doing research in the fields of behavioral sciences and mental health.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. It was created by the National Library of Medicine and is available through the EBSCOhost database.
Note: Enter your KCTCS ID and Password (same one you use for Blackboard) when prompted.
This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.
What you need to know:This database can be useful for those in medical fields such as Allied Health or Nursing. When using this database, you may want to filter using the “Limit to: Linked Full Text” if you would like to be able to read the articles.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 8,500 journals. It contains some health and nursing related journals, though you are more likely to find those in the databases listed above.
Note: Enter your KCTCS ID and Password (same one you use for Blackboard) when prompted.
This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete covers a broad variety of subjects. It provides access to journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos.
What you need to know:This is a multidisciplinary database, so searches can be conducted on a wide range of topics.
