Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
World music is a broad term that encompasses many different genres and styles from around the world that are rooted in the traditional music of each country. It typically refers to countries other than the United States.
Music from around the world may sound drastically different from American music and may focus on and value different aspects of musical performance and creation than what are valued and used in western art music, with different underlying theories and concepts.
Try using the following words plus a specific country or region to search for information on world music.
Why use this database?
Global Road Warrior is a collection of information about each country. The content ranges from history to recipes and everything in between.
What you need to know:
You can either select a country on the map or search it by name. On the individual country's page, you can use the bar on the left to look at the specific information you are interested in.
Why use this database?
A database that indexes journals (articles), books (available by chapters), primary sources, and images. In addition to the many journals that the Learning Commons subscribes to, you can also use JSTOR and Artstor's open access content. At the bottom of the page, you will find a link titled “What’s in JSTOR.” One of the first links within the body of that page it to "Open and free content" which includes resources from both JSTOR and Artstor.
What you need to know:
Use JSTOR to get great results for all areas of research for any class assignment. Artstor indexes images from numerous museums and libraries, including the Art Institute of Chicago. It is a great resource for art, art history, and CAT research. Check out JSTOR Daily to see how it matches scholarly information to current topics.
The Global Jukebox is an interactive, multimedia website that contains "an ever-expanding database of traditional folk, indigenous, and popular songs from cultures around the world." There are guides on the website that can help you make the most of the vast database, but exploring all the search options (such as culture, ethnicity, or language) may be the best way to learn how to use it.
Nigerian Christian Songs: A Digital Interactive Songbook was created by Nigerian Baptist Theological Seminary and Baylor University Center for Christian Music Studies. This resource includes information about the way these songs are organized and how they are used in Nigerian Christianity. The history of music is often intertwined with the history and practice of religion.
Cumbia: The Musical Backbone Of Latin America, presented by National Public Radio, explores the history of this vital genre and dance of Latin America via podcasts, essays, and videos.
Music and Social Justice Resources Project, created by the The Society for Ethnomusicology, "is a repository of material on how people worldwide are currently using music to address issues of social conflict, exclusion/inclusion, and justice."
