Monday - Thursday
10am - 6pm
Fridays
10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
A reference resource is a fancy name for background information. Before you begin researching, you probably don't know much about your specific topic. Background information is useful because it introduces you to your subject, providing a broad overview and new information. It can be an excellent way to find search terms to use later. Reference resources include background, overview and historical information on your topic. Doing background research can help you refine your specific topic, as well, by seeing what information actually exists, so you know whether to narrow or broaden your search.
These are encyclopedias and other reference sources available online. These sources are similar to Wikipedia but may contain more reliable information.
Note: Enter your KCTCS ID and Password (same one you use for Blackboard) when prompted.
Why use this database?
Britannica Academic provides encyclopedia articles, dictionary and thesaurus entries, an atlas, biographies, and magazine articles.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding background and reference information on any topic.
Why use this database?
Credo Reference allows access to hundreds of reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific texts, and many more. The Mind Map feature helps draw connections between different aspects of a topic.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating background and general information in almost all subject areas to help you better understand your topic.
Why use this database?
Gale in Context: Biography provides more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Content includes reference sources, videos, audio, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for researching people in all subjects. You can search for a specific person, browse people by groups like “artists” or “writers", or use search filters like occupation, place of birth or death, gender, or nationality to find what you are looking for.
