Monday - Thursday
10am - 4pm
Checked 2x Fridays
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
Databases provide access to articles from credible, well-known newspapers, magazines and journals. The Learning Commons pays a subscription fee for several general and subject-specific databases for students and faculty to use.
Some databases contain scholarly content, like academic journals on a specific subject, and others contain articles from popular magazines such as Newsweek or Forbes. Databases may contain a mixture of content from both scholarly and popular sources.
EBSCOhost is a collection of databases, most with full text, covering a comprehensive range of subjects: business, medicine, pharmacology, nursing, psychology, education, sociology, religion, philosophy and more. To access EBSCOHost from the Library Home page, click on the Articles link. Suggested databases to search for information related to psychology:
Why use this database?
EBSCOhost is the Learning Commons entire collection of EBSCOhost databases in one place.
What you need to know:
This would be useful for those who want to use EBSCOhost databases but may be unsure of which one(s) to use.
Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations and theses, preprints, technical reports, patents, manuscripts in preparation, working papers and many other document types. When you do a search in Google Scholar, you get a list of citations. You'll only get links to the full text if it's from an open access journal, or if the researcher posted the article on her/his website.
If you encounter a prompt to pay or login, you may still be able to access the resource. Here are a few suggestions:
1. Try searching for the title or authors in JCTC's Library Search.
2. Reach out through Ask a Librarian for assistance.
3. Request the article through interlibrary loan.
