Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday
10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
Magazine and journal articles are invaluable resources for research. The Learning Commons no longer subscribes to print magazines and journals.
Fortunately, we do provide access to databases which include full-text magazine and journal articles from over 19,000 periodicals.
For biology topics, Academic Search Complete in our EBSCOhost collection is a useful source.
For medical searches MEDLINE or CINAHL are good choices. If you are on campus find EBSCOhost through the Learning Commons A-Z Database list. From off campus you'll be asked to log in with your KCTCS username and password.
Useful search terms include anatomy and the specific body systems.
Databases provide access to articles from credible, well-known newspapers, magazines and journals. The library pays a subscription fee for several general and subject-specific databases for students and faculty to use.
Some databases contain scholarly content, like academic journals on a specific subject, and others contain articles from popular magazines such as Newsweek or Forbes. Databases may contain a mixture of content from both scholarly and popular sources.
You will need to use your KCTCS ID and password (same one you use for Blackboard) to access databases from home.
Why use this database?
Academic OneFile is a general database with peer-reviewed, full-text articles on a variety of subjects.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone looking for a good starting point for general research in almost any subject area.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Academic Search Complete covers a broad variety of subjects. It provides access to journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos.
What you need to know:
This is a multidisciplinary database, so searches can be conducted on a wide range of topics.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
CINAHL contains scholarly and peer-reviewed articles for nursing, and allied health disciplines. It also includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
What you need to know:
Use this database to find information on medical care issues for all Allied Health programs.
Why use this database?
Gale in Context: Science is a broad scientific database, containing topic overviews, journal articles, news, interactive experiments, biographies, dictionaries, and more.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding background and reference information on scientific topics.
Why use this database?
Health and Medicine (Gale) includes articles from nursing and allied health journals.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone doing research in a health-related field/topic.
Why use this database?
Health Reference Center contains information about diseases and health conditions, treatments, procedures, nutrition, and body systems, as well as videos, illustrations, and visual media to aid you in your research and studies.
What you need to know:
This link will take you to the Infobase Learning portal. Once there, select “Health Reference Center.”
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Health Source – Consumer Edition provides information from magazines and reference books on many health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding general information on specific health issues for personal use or for papers. Articles are not from scholarly sources.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.
What you need to know:
This database can be useful for those in medical fields such as Allied Health or Nursing. When using this database, you may want to filter using the “Limit to: Linked Full Text” if you would like to be able to read the articles.
