Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday
10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
Databases provide access to articles from credible, well-known newspapers, magazines and journals.
The library pays a subscription fee for several general and subject-specific databases for students and faculty to use.
Some databases contain scholarly content, like academic journals on a specific subject, and others contain articles from popular magazines such as Newsweek or Forbes. Databases may contain a mixture of content from both scholarly and popular sources.
You will need to use your KCTCS ID and password to access databases from home.
EBSCOhost is a collection of databases, most with full-text, covering a comprehensive range of subjects - business, medicine, pharmacology, nursing, psychology, education, sociology, and more. Many of these specialized databases contain scholarly articles, if you limit your search to find them.
NOTE: If working off-campus, enter your KCTCS ID and Password (same one you use for Blackboard) when prompted.
Why use this database?
EBSCOhost is the Learning Commons entire collection of EBSCOhost databases in one place.
What you need to know:
This would be useful for those who want to use EBSCOhost databases but may be unsure of which one(s) to use.
Some of the smaller databases within EBSCOhost may be more helpful for biology subject searches. They are:
Why use this database?
CINAHL contains scholarly and peer-reviewed articles for nursing, and allied health disciplines. It also includes access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
What you need to know:
Use this database to find information on medical care issues for all Allied Health programs.
Why use this database?
Health Source – Consumer Edition provides information from magazines and reference books on many health topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding general information on specific health issues for personal use or for papers. Articles are not from scholarly sources.
Why use this database?
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.
What you need to know:
This database can be useful for those in medical fields such as Allied Health or Nursing. When using this database, you may want to filter using the “Limit to: Linked Full Text” if you would like to be able to read the articles.
Gale is a collection of databases focusing on general, academic, and health topics, including Academic OneFile and Health and Medicine.
Why use this database?
Gale is the Learning Commons entire collection of Gale databases in one place.
What you need to know:
This would be useful for those who want to use Gale databases but may be unsure of which one(s) to use. The cross-search function allows you to search across several of the Gale products at once.
Why use this database?
Academic OneFile is a general database with peer-reviewed, full-text articles on a variety of subjects.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone looking for a good starting point for general research in almost any subject area.
Why use this database?
Health and Medicine (Gale) includes articles from nursing and allied health journals.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone doing research in a health-related field/topic.
Some biology classes have an assignment to research a scientist. A great place to find information on a historical person is through Gale in Context: Biography.
Why use this database?
Gale in Context: Biography provides more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Content includes reference sources, videos, audio, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for researching people in all subjects. You can search for a specific person, browse people by groups like “artists” or “writers", or use search filters like occupation, place of birth or death, gender, or nationality to find what you are looking for.
ProQuest provides access to newspaper articles, including the New York Times and the Courier-Journal, as well as access to Career and Technical Education.
Why use this database?
Career & Technical Education Database is an excellent source for vocational information with over 700 full-text titles.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone looking for information on different technical careers.
Why use this database?
The Courier Journal is a Louisville newspaper that can be searched for local and regional news stories from 1999 to present.
What you need to know:
Use this database for information on local and national news.
Why use this database?
The New York Times (NYT) includes newspaper articles covering regional, national, and international news from 1980 to present.
What you need to know:
The NYT is useful for finding newspaper articles on current events and information on historical events.
