Learning Guides: ENG 101 Argumentative Essay Research: Using Databases for Research

Get in Touch

Ask a Librarian

Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday
10am - 2pm

Try Our FAQs

Learning Commons Quick Links

Tutoring - Writing, math and more

Learning Guides - Quick learning

Hours - Find out when we're open

Library Search - Find materials

Databases - Articles and more!

InterLibrary Loan - Request books

Books - Recommended books

eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks

Streaming Video - Learn by watching

Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!

Follow Us!

You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.

Researching at the Learning Commons

Researching at the Learning Commons (32:10)

We know that the research process can often be overwhelming and intimidating, but we are here to help! This video provides an in-depth review to using the databases and tools available to you as a Jefferson student. You can also find more information on our Using Databases Learning Guide. If you would like more personalized help, we also offer research tutoring at the Learning Commons.

Developing Search Terms

Brainstorming Keywords (2:39)

This video from the Portland State Library explains why searching a library database is different from using a search engine like Google. Additionally, it shares tips on how to brainstorm effective search terms for database searching.

If you get stumped and are having a hard time finding the information you are looking for while you are searching, the following general terms may be useful for some argumentative topics.

argument

debate

policy

rights

attitudes

ethics

reform

theories

benefits

issues

rights

trends

criticism

outcomes

research

viewpoints

Using Boolean Operators

Boolean operators are a type of search tool used to help you find information within a database. In database searching, there are three main boolean operators: "AND," "OR," and "NOT." Keep in mind that some databases require you to use the boolean operators in all capital letters. Here's a breakdown of how they work:

"AND" is used to narrow your search results. When you use "AND," the database will only return results that include both of your search terms. For example, if you were searching for information on dogs and cats, you could use the search "dogs AND cats" to find results that contain both terms.
"OR" is used to broaden your search results. When you use "OR," the database will return results that include either of your search terms. For example, if you were searching for information on dogs or cats, you could use the search "dogs OR cats" to find results that include either term.
"NOT" is used to exclude certain terms from your search results. When you use "NOT," the database will return results that do not include the term you specify. For example, if you were searching for information on dogs but didn't want any results about cats, you could use the search "dogs NOT cats" to exclude any results that mention cats.

Let's say you're trying to find information on a specific topic, like "healthy eating." Here are some examples of how you might use boolean operators to refine your search:

To find articles that specifically mention "healthy eating" AND "vegetables," you could use the search "healthy eating AND vegetables."
To find articles that mention "healthy eating" OR "exercise," you could use the search "healthy eating OR exercise."
To find articles that mention "healthy eating" but NOT "keto," you could use the search "healthy eating NOT keto."

By using boolean operators, you can make your database searches more targeted and find the information you want more easily.

Boolean Operators (2:44)
This video, created by NC State University Libraries and licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 US, is an incredible resource for learning what boolean operators are and how they work. It also includes examples of how to use them as part of your search strategy.