Monday - Thursday
10am - 4pm
Checked 2x Fridays
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
When you are assigned a big research project or paper, it can be very tempting to dive right into the databases to try to find some resources and articles right away so you can get started! But doing that is like going on a treasure hunt with no map, no idea what the treasure looks like, and no idea where it might be hidden — this would be pretty frustrating! Wouldn't it be helpful to know a little bit about the treasure you're looking for? It's the same with research. By learning some background information about your research topic, you'll have a better idea of what you're looking for and where to start searching.
Another reason why it's important to learn some background information is that it helps you put things into context. By learning about the topic, you'll be able to understand the significance of what you're researching, and what you're reading in your research will make a lot more sense.
Knowing some background info can also help you narrow down your research question. The more you know about your topic, the better you can zoom in on specific aspects that you want to explore further. Often, when researching major issues, the subject is very broad and difficult to write about in a five to six page paper. By having a better understanding of a larger subject, it is easier to select a certain part of that issue you want to discuss in your writing.
CQ Researcher is an excellent resource for background information on current events and social issues, especially for argumentative papers. Databases that feature encyclopedias and other reference works like Credo Reference and Britannica Academic are perfect for finding background information. Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints is a database that discusses a wide variety of social issues, but often includes a brief summary that can help you understand the topic better. If you are researching a topic that is more recent or local, databases that are focused on news like America's News or the New York Times may be just what you need for finding background information.
Why use this database?
America's News features reliable and up-to-date news information from a wide variety of local, regional, and national news sources.
What you need to know:
Use this database to research diverse perspectives, topics, and trends that align with areas of studies such as business, health, criminal justice, humanities, political science, and more.
Why use this database?
Britannica Academic provides encyclopedia articles, dictionary and thesaurus entries, an atlas, biographies, and magazine articles.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding background and reference information on any topic.
Why use this database?
CQ Researcher examines contemporary issues by providing overviews, opposing viewpoints, statistics, Pro/Con arguments, and bibliographies on topics such as religion, war, human rights, law, and global warming.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for starting research on current events topics, especially for speeches and/or argumentative papers.
Why use this database?
Credo Reference allows access to hundreds of reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific texts, and many more. The Mind Map feature helps draw connections between different aspects of a topic.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating background and general information in almost all subject areas to help you better understand your topic.
Why use this database?
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints can be used to search articles, videos, charts, images, and infographics. It includes topical overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of important social issues.
What you need to know:
Use this database to discover and choose research paper topics, and find in-depth articles for research assignments for any class.
Why use this database?
The New York Times (NYT) includes newspaper articles covering regional, national, and international news from 1980 to present.
What you need to know:
The NYT is useful for finding newspaper articles on current events and information on historical events.
Why use this database?
The Washington Post is a daily newspaper based out of Washington D.C. You can find articles on a wide variety of subjects like politics, technology, and so much more.
What you need to know:
This database would be best for finding information related to current events. You will see ads within this database, but you do not need to pay to read any articles.
