ENG 102 Problem-Solution Research Guide - Lotz

Work through the topics on this page in order.

• It is a good idea to take notes as you work through the lessons.
• Your class will probably have a test on this material. 
• Notice words in bold and pay particular attention when a concept is new to you.
• When you have completed all lessons on this tab, go on to the next tab Selecting the Best Sources.
• There is no time limit and you can re-visit the learning guide as often as you like.
• Feel free to go back to earlier steps, since you will often go back to previous steps when you do actual research.

Jefferson’s libraries subscribe to databases so students and faculty have access to resources for research on campus and online. 

What is the basic definition of a library database?

• A library database is an electronic (online) catalog or index
• Library databases contain information and published items by citation and full text (PDF or HTML formats)
• Library databases are searchable (by keywords, subjects, authors, topics with a variety of limiters and expanders)

When you are searching a database, you are not searching "the web." Some online resources like library databases are said to be on the "invisible web." That means you need a username and password to access them if you are not on campus. Jefferson students can use library databases from home with the same username and password they use for all other college online accounts like email, Blackboard, and Student Self Service.

What types of items are indexed by library databases?

•  Articles in Journals, Magazines, Newspapers
•  Reference Information (including Encyclopedias, Dictionaries)
•  Books, e-books & other documents

Databases provide citation information about the items they contain. A citation typically consists of:

•  Author's name
•  Title of Article
•  Source (i.e. Title of the Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper)
•  Publisher
•  Date of Publication

Some library databases also provide abstracts of the items they contain.  An abstract is a brief summary of the article.

Jefferson’s library databases provide the full text (the entire article) for many of the items they contain. A check-box to limit search results to full text sources is one option available. It is a best practice to always check the box for full text when searching.

Some library databases contain items from many subject areas. If you're not sure which database to choose, Library Search (the search box is found on Jefferson's Library webpage) is a Discovery Tool that searches most of the library’s databases together. For this reason, it may be a good place to start. Searching individual databases may produce a results list that is more focused.

CQ Researcher is a database that contains reports researched and written by seasoned journalists. The reports are organized in reader-friendly format with an introductory overview, which includes three pro-con debates; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

How do I find what I am looking for on CQ Researcher?

There are multiple ways to find CQ Researcher reports that are of interest to you. You may:

• Select from the current or recent reports on the homepage.
• Search for a keyword, using the quick search box or using the filters on the Advanced Search page.
• Use Browse by Topic, which allows you to browse all reports on all topics, and narrow the focus of your research.
• Use Browse by Date of publication, which allows you to locate the most recent reports published or to see all reports published in a particular year.
• Use Browse by Issue Tracker, which allows you to see all of the reports published on a narrowly defined topic.
• Use Browse by Pro/Con, which lets you select a report based on the expert Pro/Con debate feature contained within each report. 

EBSCOHost offers a variety of full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The databases below, found in EBSCOHost, range from general reference collections to specially designed subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.

The Learning Commons has databases to support Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility. The databases below are a glimpse into some of the DEIA databases that could be helpful for research. 

All other databases can be found on the A-Z list. You can learn more about searching within any of our databases in the Using Databases Learning Guide. There are informative videos and lessons from the librarians.