Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday
10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
When looking for reliable information, the databases available to you as a Jefferson student are a great place to start. If you are looking for information about a controversial topic, the CQ Researcher and Gale Opposing Viewpoints databases are great resources for finding unbiased, verifiable information.
These databases also have information about trust in media, media bias, and the spread of conspiracy theories if you would like to learn more about the rise of “fake news.”
Why use this database?
CQ Researcher examines contemporary issues by providing overviews, opposing viewpoints, statistics, Pro/Con arguments, and bibliographies on topics such as religion, war, human rights, law, and global warming.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for starting research on current events topics, especially for speeches and/or argumentative papers.
Why use this database?
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints can be used to search articles, videos, charts, images, and infographics. It includes topical overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of important social issues.
What you need to know:
Use this database to discover and choose research paper topics, and find in-depth articles for research assignments for any class.
Additionally, we have many databases that allow free access to reputable news sources.
Why use this database?
America's News features reliable and up-to-date news information from a wide variety of local, regional, and national news sources.
What you need to know:
Use this database to research diverse perspectives, topics, and trends that align with areas of studies such as business, health, criminal justice, humanities, political science, and more.
Why use this database?
The Courier Journal is a Louisville newspaper that can be searched for local and regional news stories from 1999 to present.
What you need to know:
Use this database for information on local and national news.
Why use this database?
Newspaper Source provides full-text articles from regional, national, and international newspapers.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating newspaper articles, as well as transcripts of radio and television news programs.
Why use this database?
The New York Times (NYT) includes newspaper articles covering regional, national, and international news from 1980 to present.
What you need to know:
The NYT is useful for finding newspaper articles on current events and information on historical events.
Why use this database?
The Washington Post is a daily newspaper based out of Washington D.C. You can find articles on a wide variety of subjects like politics, technology, and so much more.
What you need to know:
This database would be best for finding information related to current events. You will see ads within this database, but you do not need to pay to read any articles.
