Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday
10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
When English is not your first or native language, you may sometimes be called an "English Language Learner" (ELL) or "English as a Second Language" (ESL) student. Writing in English may present special challenges if you are learning the language. Some languages, for instance, do not use articles ("a," "an," and "the"), and it can be difficult to decide when to use them in English. The Learning Commons is here to help through online resources or through tutoring services.
If your first language is Spanish, you can find resources on the Recursos para Hispanohablantes tab of the LearningExpress Library.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
LearningExpress Library offers a comprehensive selection of online tutorials, practice tests, articles, ebooks, and test preparation.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone needing prep and/or practice for exams, including GED, ACT, GRE, and the US Citizenship test, or occupational certification exam prep for careers in nursing and allied health, military, law enforcement, education and various trades. You will need to create a free account to use LearningExpress Library.
Are you struggling to research through the databases due to a language barrier? Three of the most commonly used databases allow you to change the searching language. Here's how:
Academic OneFile (Gale): Click on the English button across the top of the page to change the language.
Why use this database?
Academic OneFile is a general database with peer-reviewed, full-text articles on a variety of subjects.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone looking for a good starting point for general research in almost any subject area.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost): Click on the link for Languages across the top of the page to change the language.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Academic Search Complete covers a broad variety of subjects. It provides access to journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos.
What you need to know:
This is a multidisciplinary database, so searches can be conducted on a wide range of topics.
JSTOR: Scroll to the bottom of the page, then click on the Google dropdown that says "Select Language"
Why use this database?
A database that indexes journals (articles), books (available by chapters), primary sources, and images. In addition to the many journals that the Learning Commons subscribes to, you can also use JSTOR and Artstor's open access content. At the bottom of the page, you will find a link titled “What’s in JSTOR.” One of the first links within the body of that page it to "Open and free content" which includes resources from both JSTOR and Artstor.
What you need to know:
Use JSTOR to get great results for all areas of research for any class assignment. Artstor indexes images from numerous museums and libraries, including the Art Institute of Chicago. It is a great resource for art, art history, and CAT research. Check out JSTOR Daily to see how it matches scholarly information to current topics.
In EBSCOhost, any article that is available in HTML Full Text can be translated. Look for and click on this icon: 
On the screen, you'll see a dropdown for translating the language:
Choose your language and click on the Translate button. It may take a few moments to translate the entire article.
PDF articles are not available for automatic translation. However, you can use Google Translate or any other translator to help you.
In Gale, once you select an article, you just click on the Translate drop-down box to select your preferred language:
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Academic Search Complete covers a broad variety of subjects. It provides access to journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos.
What you need to know:
This is a multidisciplinary database, so searches can be conducted on a wide range of topics.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
EBSCOhost is the Learning Commons entire collection of EBSCOhost databases in one place.
What you need to know:
This would be useful for those who want to use EBSCOhost databases but may be unsure of which one(s) to use.
Why use this database?
Academic OneFile is a general database with peer-reviewed, full-text articles on a variety of subjects.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone looking for a good starting point for general research in almost any subject area.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints can be used to search articles, videos, charts, images, and infographics. It includes topical overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of important social issues.
What you need to know:
Use this database to discover and choose research paper topics, and find in-depth articles for research assignments for any class.
Why use this database?
Gale Power Search is a database tool that allows you to search all Gale resources at one time.
What you need to know:
When using Gale Power Search, make sure that you've marked the resources that you are interested in being searched.
EBSCOhost allows users to limit the search results to only materials written in specific languages. To start, select "Advanced Search":
Under the section "Limit your results", locate the language box and choose your language from the options:
This will only search for materials in the language you selected.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Academic Search Complete covers a broad variety of subjects. It provides access to journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos.
What you need to know:
This is a multidisciplinary database, so searches can be conducted on a wide range of topics.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
EBSCOhost is the Learning Commons entire collection of EBSCOhost databases in one place.
What you need to know:
This would be useful for those who want to use EBSCOhost databases but may be unsure of which one(s) to use.
Do you learn or understand better from listening or speaking? Some databases can read the articles to you.
In EBSCOhost, can be translated, but they can also be read aloud:
Why use this database?
Academic OneFile is a general database with peer-reviewed, full-text articles on a variety of subjects.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for anyone looking for a good starting point for general research in almost any subject area.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
Academic Search Complete covers a broad variety of subjects. It provides access to journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos.
What you need to know:
This is a multidisciplinary database, so searches can be conducted on a wide range of topics.
Why use this database?
Credo Reference allows access to hundreds of reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific texts, and many more. The Mind Map feature helps draw connections between different aspects of a topic.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for locating background and general information in almost all subject areas to help you better understand your topic.
This link opens in a new windowWhy use this database?
EBSCOhost is the Learning Commons entire collection of EBSCOhost databases in one place.
What you need to know:
This would be useful for those who want to use EBSCOhost databases but may be unsure of which one(s) to use.
