Monday - Thursday
10am - 4pm
Checked 2x Fridays
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
For Physical Books:
The JCTC libraries use the Library of Congress Classification system to shelve books. This classification system uses a combination of letters and numbers to group books topically. For example, nursing nonfiction books can be found in the RT section, and nursing reference books can be found in the R section.
A call number for a nursing book will look something like this:
RT41 .N869 2018
For eBooks:
There are a few different databases that can be used to find eBooks on nursing. Just type "nursing" or a related keyword into the search field to find books on your topic. Use the databases below to find eBooks.
Why use this database?
Ebook Central includes over 200,000 unlimited access scholarly books in a variety of disciplines that you can read online.
What you need to know:
This database is useful for finding information for any research assignment. One advantage of eBooks is that they can provide more in-depth information than a brief article or reference entry. To use ProQuest Ebook Central, you will need to create a free account.
Why use this database?
The EBSCOHost eBook Collection primarily consists of nonfiction eBooks from a variety of publishers. Many of these eBooks feature searchable text, as well as the ability to download, save, or print certain chapters or sections for easy reference.
What you need to know:
When you want more in-depth information about your chosen subject, eBooks can be a great choice.
Why use this database?
Libby is an app that you can download to your iPhone, tablet, or computer. You can use Libby to read eBooks or listen to audiobooks.
What you need to know:
To use Libby, you will need to log in with your Jefferson username and password. On Libby, you’ll need to add Jefferson Community and Technical College as your library to begin checking out books.
Below are just some of the many nursing books and eBooks we currently have at the Learning Commons:
This short video from Pollak Library from California State University, Fullerton explains how to use Library of Congress call numbers to find books.
