Available Mon - Thurs
10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 2pm
Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
Reference resources include library materials which detail background, overview or historical information on your topic. Your campus library may have a special area just for reference materials. Reference materials may not be checked out.
Reference resources may also be found in electronic library catalogs. Can't make it to the library? Online reference materials can be used from home.
Access Science is an online counterpart to McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, and includes the following:
From the Library home page, click on the link for Reference, then click on the link for 'Access Science', or just click on the link below. There is a section devoted to Biological & Biomedical Science.
AccessScience is a broad-based scientific encyclopedia, including articles, illustrations and videos.
What you need to know:This database is useful for finding background and reference information on scientific topics.
Credo Reference Unlimited provides online access to over 400 reference books. From the library home page, simply click on the link for Reference, then Credo Reference Unlimited. Credo makes it easy to search for information by offering "topic pages". Click on Topic Pages at the top of the screen, then click Categories, then Medicine, and finally Nursing. The following link will lead you to topic pages about nursing in general, but be aware that Credo Unlimited offers information on many subjects within the field of nursing!
Credo Reference allows access to hundreds of reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, subject-specific texts, and many more. The Mind Map feature helps draw connections between different aspects of a topic.
What you need to know:This database is useful for locating background and general information in almost all subject areas to help you better understand your topic.
Wikipedia can be a good place to start your research when you know nothing about a topic. Occasionally, you can even find good sources among the References and External Links listed on Wikipedia pages -- where the Wikipedia authors found out their information.
However, it is rarely acceptable to use Wikipedia as a source in an academic paper. Ask your instructor if you are unsure.
