Tutoring - Writing, math and more
Learning Guides - Quick learning
Hours - Find out when we're open
Library Search - Find materials
Databases - Articles and more!
InterLibrary Loan - Request books
Books - Recommended books
eBooks - Thousands of free eBooks
Streaming Video - Learn by watching
Use the Library Search to find books, eBooks, articles, and more!
You can find Learning Commons information, book recommendations and so much more on JCTC's social media.
You can also use documentaries and educational videos as research sources. Films On Demand and Academic Video Online are databases that lets you search for short clips or entire films. Users who create an account can organize and bookmark clips, share playlists and store quick links to favorite videos.
Off-campus access to Films on Demand and Academic Video Online is restricted to members of the JCTC community. You will use the same username/password that is required for Blackboard access.
Why use this database?
Stream educational videos on a range of subjects like health, history, music and more.
What you need to know:
This database covers a wide range of information in video format. Searchable fields include name, subject, channel, and collection.
Why use this database?
Films on Demand is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused video streaming database, which includes full transcripts, closed captioning, and formatted citations.
What you need to know:
This database offers informative videos for research in all academic subjects.
The Learning Commons subscribes to the Films on Demand: Nursing Concepts and Practice Collection. To find these videos, filter by subject within the Films on Demand database and select nursing. You will then see all of the videos that are specific to the nursing field, including Nursing Foundations, Nursing Prerequisites, and NCLEX Preparation videos.
Why use this database?
This database contains educational videos for nursing students.
What you need to know:
This link will take you to the Infobase Learning portal. Once there, select “Nursing: Current Concepts and Practices Collection.” You should see over 1,000 videos that go into the concepts and practices most important for nursing students to learn.
